Chelsea and Spurs players take centre stage in PFA team of the year 2017

Hazard, Luiz, Kante and Cahill along with Spurs’ fellow foursome all make the cut

Whilst their eventual crowning of the Premier League trophy has become anything but a formality following recent events, the nucleus of the Chelsea side that has stormed their way to the league’s summit have rightfully made their way in the PFA’s Team of the Year list.

Luiz and Cahill’s solid defensive pairing has earned themselves a place on the list, somewhat surprising given the reservations of the two throughout football writers columns at the start of the season.

Hazard and Kante, both superb in their own ways, make their way into the midfield’s best 4, with the pair likely to be pushing each other all the way for the coveted Player of the Year gong.

Much like their assault on their fellow Londoners, Spurs wade into things with bombing full backs Danny Rose and Kyle Walker completing the defence, with the talented Dele Alli in midfield and talisman Harry Kane upfront.

Manchester United’s ever reliable David de Gea and Liverpool’s Sadio Mane complete the lineup.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Alexis Sánchez seem the only glaring omissions to us, however with much of the current lineup either excellent or, at least, excellent enough to help their respective sides to potential EPL glory, we’ll let things slide.

PFA team of the year 2017

Premier League: David de Gea (Manchester United); Kyle Walker (Tottenham), David Luiz (Chelsea), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Danny Rose (Tottenham); Dele Alli (Tottenham), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea), Sadio Mané (Liverpool); Harry Kane (Tottenham), Romelu Lukaku (Everton).

Here’s how things panned out elsewhere.

Championship: David Stockdale (Brighton); Bruno Saltor (Brighton), Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Jamaal Lascelles (Newcastle), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham); Tom Cairney (Fulham), Anthony Knockaert (Brighton), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield), Jonjo Shelvey (Newcastle); Dwight Gayle (Newcastle), Chris Wood (Leeds).

League One: Simon Moore (Sheffield United); Kieron Freeman (Sheffield United), Mark Beevers (Bolton), David Wheater (Bolton), James Meredith (Bradford); Mark Duffy (Sheffield United), John Fleck (Sheffield United), Josh Morris (Scunthorpe), Erhun Oztumer (Walsall); Billy Sharp (Sheffield United), James Vaughan (Bury).

League Two: Luke McCormick (Plymouth); Kelvin Mellor (Blackpool), Sonny Bradley (Plymouth), Christian Burgess (Portsmouth), Enda Stevens (Portsmouth); Nicky Adams (Carlisle), Luke Berry (Cambridge), James Coppinger (Doncaster), Graham Carey (Plymouth); Danny Hylton (Luton), John Marquis (Doncaster).

Women’s Super League: Mary Earps (Reading); Lucy Bronze (Manchester City), Jennifer Beattie (Manchester City), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Jess Carter (Birmingham City); Karen Carney (Chelsea), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal), Caroline Weir (Liverpool); Jane Ross (Manchester City), Eniola Aluko (Chelsea Ladies).

Written by Michael

Obsessive fan at heart, football blogger, David Brent quote enthusiast and father of one.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%